support your zoo

Without your support, the zoo would not be able to provide the Mid-Michigan area with the safe, fun, educational and beautiful experience that it does.

In 1987, the Saginaw Valley Zoological Society formed and took over management of the zoo from the City of Saginaw in April 1996. The zoo is classified as a non-profit, 501-C3 organization.

The beautiful expansions and capital improvements at the zoo are possible because of the generous support of local foundations. The care and feeding of the animals at the zoo and the day-to-day operations are funded by zoo gate admissions, Zoo Store, concessions, and beginning in 2016 a Saginaw County millage.

There are many ways to support the Children’s Zoo!

Memberships to the zoo are a great way to enjoy the zoo at tremendous savings while supporting the zoo's programs and operating.

The zoo welcomes donations in many forms. General donations, which also includes memory or honorary donations and train and carousel fund donations are a great way to show your support. Donations to the zoo’s endowment fund are also encouraged, to ensure that the zoo will be able to provide future generations with family-oriented fun and education.

Corporate donations and event sponsorship donations are also ways to help the zoo provide the events and programs that are so popular.

Other ways to support the Children's Zoo include purchasing Engraved Bricks, our Adopt-an-Animal program and volunteering at the zoo. The zoo also has a Wish List that you can help replenish.

To better secure the future of the zoo, planned giving through a will, trust, gift annuity or life insurance is another way to be sure the zoo is here for future generations. Tax benefits apply, so consult your financial planner.


2017 Saginaw Valley Zoological Society Board of Directors


Jennifer Jaffee

Michael Kelly
Vice Chair

Sherrie Fritze-Harris
Recording Secretary

Tara Girard

Elissa Basil
Past Chairperson

Judy Weldy
Board Advisor
Board Members
Dave Case Heidi Helgren JD
Carrie Houtman Katie Kelly
Julie Kozan Michael Krempa
Carol Lechel Mary Sue Markey
Kevin Schultz Jim Theisen
Dr. Scott Woodbury  
Executive Director
Nancy Parker